Latest News

64th National Film Awards; Akshay Kumar and Surabhi Lakshmi bag top honours, Mohanlal wins special jury award

mohanlal latest news, mohanlal national award, akshay kumar latest news, surabhi lakshmi latest news, latest malayalam news, national film awards 2017, national film award winners 2017, 64th national film awards

64th National Film Awards; Akshay Kumar and Surabhi Lakshmi bag top honours, Mohanlal wins special jury award

The Priyadarshan headed National Award jury annouced the winners of the 64th National Film Awards.

Akshay Kumar has won his first National Award for Best Actor for his work in the 2016 film Rustom. Actress Sonam Kapoor received a special mention for her film Neerja, which was also named as the Best Hindi Film. Dangal fame Zaira Wasim has won Best Supporting Actress.

Surabhi Lakshmi won the Best Actress for Minnaminungu. Mohanlal won the Special Jury award for his performance in Janatha Garage, Pulimurugan and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol. Peter Hein won the award for Best Stunt Choreographer for Pulimurugan.

Best Actor – Akhay Kumar (Rustom)

Best Actress – Surabhi Lakshmi (Minnaminungu)

Best Supporting Actor – Manoj Joshi (Dashkriya)

Best Supporting Actress – Zaira Wasim (Dangal)

Best Direction – Rajesh (Ventilator)

Best Film on social issue – Pink

Special Jury award for Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Special Mention for Sonam Kapoor

Best Malayalam movie – Maheshinte Prathikaram

Best Tamil movie – Joker

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment – Sathamanam Bhavathi

Best Children’s Film – Dhanak (Hindi)

Best Debut Film of a Director – Deep Chaudari (Alifa)

Best Screenplay (original) – Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaram)

Best Screenplay (adapted) – Sanjay Krishnaji patel (Dashakriya)

Best Editing – Rameshwar S. Bhagat (Ventilator)

Best Special Effect Award – Shivaay

Sound Designer – Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)

Best stunt choreography – Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)

Best Child Artist – Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)

Best Male Playback Singer – Sundara Iyer (Joker)

Best Female Playback Singer – Iman Chakraborty (Praktan)

Sound Designer – Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookunna Neram)

Best Production Design – 24 (Tamil)

Best Costume Designer – Sachin (Marathi)

Best Environmental film including agriculture – The Tiger who crossed the line

Best Make-up Artist – MK Ramakrishna

Best Music Direction – Babu Padmanabha (Kannada Lama)

Special Mention – Kadvi Hawa Mukthi bhava (Hindi)

Over 300 films participated for the awards this year. The jury watched the movies from March. Priyadarshan was the chairperson of the jury in feature films category, while nationally acclaimed cinematographer and writer Raju Misra was the chairperson in non-feature category.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top