Latest News

No Mohanlal, last round competition was between Vinayakan and Manikandan Achari: Kamal

Vinayakan, Best actor 2016, kerala state film award 2016, director kamal, manikandan achari, mohanlal best actor award,

No Mohanlal, last round competition was between Vinayakan and Manikandan Achari: Kamal

Kerala State Awards for the year 2016 was announced yesterday. Kammattipadam actors Vinayakan and Manikandan R Achari won the best actor and best second actor awards respectively.

There were reports that Mohanlal and Vinayakan were considered for the best actor awards in the last round. However, it is informed that the competition was between Vinayakan and Manikandan R Achari for the best actor award. Salim Kumar’s performance in Karutha Joodhan and K Kaladharan in Ottayal Paatha were also considered for the award. Last year’s winner Dulquer Salmaan was also considered at one stage for the best actor.

The jury members finally decided to award Vinayakan as the best actor award while Manikandan was awarded as the second actor. Salim Kumar’s Karutha Joodhan won the awarded for best story. Kaladharan was honoured with a special jury award.

Chalachithra Academy chairman Kamal has said that there was no rule stating that the best actor award should only be given to the lead actor or the protagonist. Producer of Kammattipadam submitted the names of Dulquer Salmaan, Vinayakan and Manikandan Achari as the lead actors. Even if it was submitted that way, the jury has the discretion to select the best actor.

Also Read : Mohanlal is impressed by Angamaly Diaries

Social media is flooded with posts appreciating the jury’s selections. Past few years, the Kerala State Awards jury have had to face the wrath of the public for overlooking deserving performers. Malayali cyber citizens have stated that the faith in State Awards was restored after yesterday’s announcement.

A ten member jury led by Odisha director A.K. Bir watched 68 feature films, including eight movies for children, before shortlisting 10 movies. The jury members watched five films per day from February.

Director Sundar Das, actress Shanthi Krishna, Priyanandan, Sudevan, PF Mathews, VT Murali, Arun Nambiar, Dr Meena T Pillai and Mahesh Panchu were the jury members.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top