Latest News

Mangalam film awards announced

Mammootty Best Actor-Manju Warrier-Mangalam Film Award Announced-Onlookers Media

The first ever Mangalam film awards was announced and Mega star Mammootty won the award for Best Actor of the year 2014 for his performance in Munnariyippu helmed by Venu and written by R Unni. The comeback lady Manju Warrier is chosen as the Best Actress for her performance in her comeback film named How Old Are You which was created by  Roshen Andrews-Bobby-Sanjay team.Veteran actor and director Balachandra Menon will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award this time for his contribution to Malayalam cinema in different fields of film making. Last year’s surprise hit named Vellimoonga starred Biju menon and Nokki gilrani and conceived by Jibu Jacob has bagged the award for Best Movie of the year 2014.

For this award which is announced for the first time, the winners are selected through a gallop poll conducted by the Mangalam online channel and a special jury which includes famous director such as  Lenin Rajendran, producer Suresh Kumar(revathy kalamandir) and cinematographer Sunny Joseph. The first ever Mangalam awards will be distributed at the silver jubilee celebrations of Mangalam Daily which is decoded to be held in Kottayam on 18th April 2015.

Winners List of the award follows as Best Actor for Mammootty For Munnariyippu, Best Actress Manju Warrier for How Old Are You which was her first film after comeback, the award for Best Movie of the year went to Vellimoonga, the Lifetime Achievement Award went for Balachandra Menon, Best Director Abride Shine for 1983 which was his debut film as well, Youth Icon (male) award is for Nivin Pauly , Youth Icon female award for Mia George, Best Screenplay award for Bobby-Sanjay for their screen writing for the film How Old Are You)

Best Cinematography award for Jomon T John for Vikramadithyan, Best Singer award for male goes to Najeem Arshad for the song in Vikramadithyan starting as “Mazhanila Kulirumayi..”composed by Biji pal, Best Singer award for female is for Vani Jayaram for the song in the film 1983 starting as “Olenjali Kuruvi ilam kaattiladi varu nee..” composed by Gopi Sundar. There are special jury awards as well which are, Special Jury Awards for Direction goes to Venu for Munnariyippu and Anjali Menon  for the film Bangalore Days.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top